Cubs Finalize 30-Man Roster for Start of Season

The Cubs have announced their initial 30-man roster, the final procedural step toward starting the long-awaited “regular” season. As you are no doubt familiar by now, teams have a 60-man player pool split into primary and support rosters. The former is currently capped at 30, but that number will drop to 28 after two weeks and then 26 after two more.

There is also a three-man taxi squad that will accompany the main roster on road trips, so the Cubs will actually have 33-players available when they travel to Cincinnati on Monday.

Outside of a surprise or two, this is pretty much what we had all expected. The only real surprise for me was not rostering outfielder Ian Miller, who I really thought added a dimension of speed that the Cubs lack otherwise. Of course, that could change soon enough due to injuries or performance.

Miller, Hernán Pérez, PJ Higgins, and Danny Hultzen have all be assigned to South Bend and Robel García has been designated for assignment in order to make room for Josh Phegley and Rex Brothers on the 40-man roster, which is now full. The 60-man player pool is only at 53, but that doesn’t include additions like Burl Carraway and some other pitching prospects.

Also of note is Daniel Descalso remaining in the organization but going on the 45-day injured list with an ankle sprain that he must have suffered very recently. It was an ankle injury that derailed his 2019 season, though the Cubs had him try to play through that for far too long.

Here’s the full roster:

11-Yu Darvish, RHP
24-Jeremy Jeffress, RHP
28-Kyle Hendricks, RHP
30-Alec Mills, RHP
32-Tyler Chatwood, RHP
34-Jon Lester, LHP
36-Dillon Maples, RHP
38-Brad Wieck, LHP
43-Dan Winkler, RHP
46-Craig Kimbrel, RHP
48-Rex Brothers, LHP
50-Rowan Wick, RHP
51-Duane Underwood Jr., RHP
56-Kyle Ryan, LHP
57-James Norwood, RHP
62-José Quintana, LHP (10-day IL)
65-Casey Sadler, RHP

2-Nico Hoerner
9-Javier Báez
13-David Bote
17-Kris Bryant
27-Jason Kipnis
33-Daniel Descalso (45-Day IL)
44-Anthony Rizzo

5-Albert Almora Jr.
8-Ian Happ
12-Kyle Schwarber
21-Steven Souza Jr.
22-Jason Heyward

4-Josh Phegley
7-Victor Caratini
40-Willson Contreras

Back to top button