IBWAA Names Joe Maddon NL Manager of the Year

In what could be a prelude of the BBWAA award coming up Tuesday night, the IBWAA voted Joe Maddon the NL’s Manager of the Year. Maddon received 85 first-place votes (48.6%) and was named on 157 of 175 ballots. Wait a minute, what were the other 18 voters thinking? Dave Roberts (66), Dusty Baker (10), and Terry Collins (10) also received top billing, so I suppose it figures that a few voters didn’t see fit to name Maddon among their three choices.

1st Place: Joe Maddon, Chicago Cubs – 585 points

2nd Place: Dave Roberts, Los Angeles Dodgers – 494 points

3rd Place: Dusty Baker, Washington Nationals – 264 points

Maddon won both the IBWAA and BBWAA awards last season as well and will be going for the four-peat when MLB Network continues its coverage of the postseason honors at 6pm ET. For what it’s worth, I think Roberts will end up getting the nod.

Oh wait, there’s a whole ‘nother league involved in this thing. Terry Francona (683 points) was named AL MOY, with Jeff Bannister (390) and Buck Showalter (193) rounding out the voting.

Back to top button