BBWAA Award Finalists Announced and (Surprise!) it’s Flush With Cubs

The Baseball Writer’s Association of America has announced it’s nominees for their 2016 major awards and it’s no surprise that there are many Cubs that made the lists. Here’s a list of the awards and nominees.

Most Valuable Player – National League

  • Kris Bryant, Chicago Cubs
  • Daniel Murphy, Washington Nationals
  • Corey Seager, Los Angeles Dodgers

Most Valuable Player – American League

  • Jose Altuve, Houston Astros
  • Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox
  • Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

Cy Young Award – National League

  • Kyle Hendricks, Chicago Cubs
  • Jon Lester, Chicago Cubs
  • Max Scherzer, Washington Nationals

Cy Young Award – American League

  • Rick Porcello, Boston Red Sox
  • Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians
  • Justin Verlander, Detroit Tigers

Rookie of the Year – National League

  • Kenta Maeda, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • Trea Turner, Washington Nationals
  • Corey Seager, Los Angeles Dodgers

Rookie of the Year – American League

  • Michael Fulmer, Detroit Tigers
  • Tyler Naquin, Cleveland Indians
  • Gary Sanchez, New York Yankees

Manager of the Year – National League

  • Joe Maddon, Chicago Cubs
  • Dusty Baker, Washington Nationals
  • Dave Roberts, Los Angeles Dodgers

Manager of the Year – American League

  • Jeff Banister, Texas Rangers
  • Terry Francona, Cleveland Indians
  • Buck Showalter, Baltimore Orioles

On the National League side of the ledger, the Chicago Cubs (4), Washington Nationals (4) and Los Angeles Dodgers (4) make up the entire field of nominees. That speaks loud and clear for where the top three teams in the NL are compared to the rest of the league and where you can expect them to be next year.

The American League nominees are spread out a little bit more then their NL counterparts, with the Cleveland Indians (3), Boston Red Sox (2) and Detroit Tigers (2) leading the way. Eight different teams have nominees on the AL side so the balance of power seems to be spread out a little bit more than on the NL side.

The BBWAA award winners will be announced live on the MLB Network during one hour specials, as follows:

  • Rookie of the Year Awards – Monday, November 14 at 5 PM CT
  • Manager of the Year Awards – Tuesday, November 15 at 5 PM CT
  • Cy Young Awards – Wednesday, November 16 at 5 PM CT
  • Most Valuable Player Awards – Thursday, November 17 at 5 PM CT
Back to top button